Sunday, November 19, 2006

Thinking Happy Thoughts...

You wake up thinking you have everything planned out, then suddenly your perfected plans are abandoned for something different. Yesterday was one of those days.

It all started out with a rerun of Making the Cut. It's nice to wake up to television because it doesn't require your full attention. Soon afterwards Ashley called to remind me to make her sign (SCORE AGAIN #10) for use later that night. I worked on it for a little while, managing to cut out the "Score Again" portion before decided to leave it for a while in order to have a shower. Right after I got out of the shower, wearing only a towel and sopping wet hair, the phone rings. It was Becca, wondering if I wanted to go to one of the Canucks autograph session... in 15 minutes. Since it had been previously determined that we wouldn't be able to go because of her soccer game, I had been dawdling all day. I of course said that I would definitely want to go and proceeded to get ready in said time. She called 15 minutes later saying she was leaving her house and asked me to print out maps to both the Burrows and Pyatt signings. I did as I was told, and we let her dad determine which location was closer. Luckily for me, Pyatt's Abbotsford signing was the way to go so, we drove all the way there.

We arrived at the Save-On Foods at exactly 2:30, coincidently the start time of the autograph session. I stole a mini-poster off the door, but I blame Becca for my antics. She advised me to do so, even thought she was fully aware of how open to suggestion I am. Anyways, since we arrived so late, we were very close to the end of the line. During our hour-long wait, we befriended this kid Brandon who was in line right behind us. He was a cool kid who almost got ran over by Joe Thorton. It was a great story, really. But let's get to the strong point of the story. Yes, pun intended.


Pyatt was totally cool and yet the total opposite of cold at the same time, if you catch my drift. If you don't just ask me to explain it to you. The whole thing was completely different from the experience I had at the Jovo signing last year. It was way more relaxed, they let us take pictures and you could get more than one item autographed. Pyatt himself was really nice, I congratuated him on his performance so far this season and he genuinely seemed to be thankful. He even asked Becca and I how we were doing and other small talk like that. Then after he autographed our stuff we got to take a picture with him. I sat down in the seat next to him and I kind of lean up against him. All I can say is "Holy muscles Batman!" He was like rock solid, and Becca said the same thing because she bumped into him aswell. She claims it was purely accidental, I'm not convinced. We were really lucky to get in before he left, because he had "other engagments" to attend to and had to leave at 3:30.

Coming off the immediate "Py High" (I'm so sorry, I couldn't help myself) we drove back to Becca's house. Other than the weird guys rubbing themselves at us, it was a fairly uneventful drive back.

Unfortunately for us (the first, and only truly unlucky turn of the day) we missed a bus by literally one minute on our way the to the Giant's game, leading us to miss the first 8 minutes. The game itself was awesome though, with the Giants winning 2-0 over the Regina Pats. Ashley wasn't mad about me not finishing the sign, and thankfully appreciated the fact that I was not expecting the whole autograph thing.



Tyson Sexsmith redeemed himself with his performance last night with a shut-out on 23 shots.



This may seem terrible to everyone, but I honestly didn't notice that Tommy Tartaglione (former Giant) was on the Pat's bench until I took this picture. I wonder if him and the other Giants, especially Slade, talked at all during the game. Though I'm sure Slade was too busy doing his homework to even notice. Speaking of Slade, during the intermissions at Giants Games they have Timbits hockey (little kids) playing on the ice. When the Timbits were getting onto the ice all of the Giants players had cleared the bench except for Slade who patted every single on of the kids on the back as they skated on the ice for encouragement. It was soooooooo cute. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that Garrett Hunt got into a really awesome fight. I'd say it was a draw, but advantage to Hunt for only being 5'9" to the other guys 6'. Anyways, it was a great way to end off a great day.

This morning I once again began with television, though it was The National on CBC instead of Making the Cut. Evan Soloman is the best news anchor ever. He has the perfect blend of professionalism and relatability. I'm also currently watching the Grey Cup Championship; GO LIONS!

I must admit that I'm not a very big football fan, but when the home team is up for the Grey Cup, it's hard not to get into it.

Anywho, I'm going to go watch the rest of the game and then listen to the Canucks game. Let's make it 2 in a row!

Toodles.

No comments: