Monday, November 27, 2006

Eeek! Snow!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Even though everyone knows I cannot stand snow (I'm cold-blooded, what can I say?), I love the fact that it got me off school today. Thanks snow!

Not much else has happened, but I want to express how upset I am that Making the Cut isn't going to be on until January 27TH!!!! That's soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo far away! Boo!

Oh yea, and I got a myspace, www.myspace.com/downsideofslope , it's not very interesting, considering I have 1 friend. (shouts to Shay!) But oh well, I tried.

And today I would like to institute a new tradition. I like to call it Pic of the Post, which I find to be pretty self-explanitory.

Enjoy!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Toodles

Wednesday, November 22, 2006

CSI Miami - Endless Caruso One Liners

Just for you Kathleen!

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Don't Go Breakin' My Heart...

As some of you will know by now, Dustin Slade has quit the Vancouver Giants. He says that he has done so to pursue a pro career, but I doubt any team would want a quitter. NOBODY likes a quitter.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


I understand that as a 20 year old it is imperative that he play to his fullest potential during this season, but I don't understand why he felt the need to detach himself after the team has done so much for him. They gave up Chad Scharff and Tommy Tartaglione just to keep him, and he leaves the team on the notice of one day. Normally, this would not be of much consequence, but this is not the case for this team; especially at this time. The Vancouver Giants, the best team in the WHL, has automatic berth into the Memorial Cup. Now our team must rely on a 17 year old goalie with no playoff experience to lead them to the Stanley Cup of the CHL. Dustin was arguably one of the best goalies in the WHL and will be sorely missed, but it may be for the best. His loyalty was obviously questionable, which is the last thing a team full of champions needs. Goodbye Dustin. I wish you the best, but I still have to say: Go Giants Go!

Moving on to more pleasant news, Degrassi Season Six is finally upon us!!!!!!!!!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


I'm slightly ashamed to say that I almost forgot about the CTV webcast, but luckily talking to Amburger reminded me. Let's get to it, shall we?

Yes, it's not a dream, MODEL BEHAVIOUR IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


I was so excited to see Model Behaviour (Sean), and then I noticed the ponytail. I must admit, I am not a fan of the male ponytail. For some reason I think it is very unappealing, but since it's Degrassi, I'll forgive.

Another thing that I'm willing to forgive is the new begining credits.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


It reminds me of a really bad soap opera (credit to Amber for the analogy) though I'm happy that the ending has is very similar.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


If Degrassi didn't come out of Marco's back, like it has since season one, I was gonna freak.

I am also SOOOOO relieved the everyone is friends with Spinner again.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


It was so sad last season when everyone was ignoring him. Not to mention it drove him to be friends with that stupid Darcy chick. Speaking of Darcy she totally got bizzurned by Paige. At Paige's bon voyage to Banting University she came up to Paige and said "Hey Paige, I guess I'm the only one not sorry to see you go. I know you had sex with Spinner last year. I thought you were above being a low-grade ho, but I guess I was wrong." to which Paige responded "Sweetie, I would love to indulge your need to ruin my party with a full-on catfight, but I'll pass. Save the drama for highschool hun, I'm moving on."

OH SNAP!!

and this was her face afterwards:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Priceless. Paige owns all.

Oh, did I mention Dylan is finally back?

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


I guess since he's finished filming Canada Russia '72 he can devote more time to Degrassi. Hurrah!

and I cannot possibly talk about this epidode without mentioning my favourite quote

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Yes folks, that was almost as funny as what happened afterschool today. Let me explain further. Katie, Ashley and I were walking down the hallway when I noticed a bunch of pennies on the floor. I alerted Katie and we proceeded to pick them up. Just then we noticed Mr. Patrick walking in front of us. Katie motioned that she was going to throw one of her pennies at the Patty. I egged her on, not actually expecting her to do so, yet she did. Her first penny missed Patty, but the second one hit him square on the back of the head.

Photobucket - Video and Image HostingPhotobucket - Video and Image HostingPhotobucket - Video and Image HostingPhotobucket - Video and Image HostingPhotobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Me and Ashley were laughed so hard as Patty gave Katie a lame lecture. Like stated above, funniest thing ever.


As I close off this entry, I urge you all to Vote for Rory Fitzpatrick.
www.voteforrory.com

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hostingwww.voteforrory.com


Rory Fitzpatrick is probably the worst defencemen on the entire Vancouver Canucks team, and maybe in the league. Every year the NHL has an All-Star game in which the Eastern Teams play against the Western Teams. The beauty of the All-Star game is that the All-Star are chosen by the fans. If you follow the link you will get to chose which players to send in. If you don't follow hockey, I suggest that you choose the following, in this order:

Crosby Malkin Ovechkin Chara Redden Lehtonen

Naslund D.Sedin H.Sedin Ohlund Pronger Luongo

then as your non-ballot choices

Ruutu, J and FITZPATRICK!!

this is the most important part!

If you are having trouble understanding how to do so please follow this link:
http://www.voteforrory.com/votehelp.jpg

If he actually made it to the All-Star game, it would make my life; please, help me!

Toodles

Sunday, November 19, 2006

Thinking Happy Thoughts...

You wake up thinking you have everything planned out, then suddenly your perfected plans are abandoned for something different. Yesterday was one of those days.

It all started out with a rerun of Making the Cut. It's nice to wake up to television because it doesn't require your full attention. Soon afterwards Ashley called to remind me to make her sign (SCORE AGAIN #10) for use later that night. I worked on it for a little while, managing to cut out the "Score Again" portion before decided to leave it for a while in order to have a shower. Right after I got out of the shower, wearing only a towel and sopping wet hair, the phone rings. It was Becca, wondering if I wanted to go to one of the Canucks autograph session... in 15 minutes. Since it had been previously determined that we wouldn't be able to go because of her soccer game, I had been dawdling all day. I of course said that I would definitely want to go and proceeded to get ready in said time. She called 15 minutes later saying she was leaving her house and asked me to print out maps to both the Burrows and Pyatt signings. I did as I was told, and we let her dad determine which location was closer. Luckily for me, Pyatt's Abbotsford signing was the way to go so, we drove all the way there.

We arrived at the Save-On Foods at exactly 2:30, coincidently the start time of the autograph session. I stole a mini-poster off the door, but I blame Becca for my antics. She advised me to do so, even thought she was fully aware of how open to suggestion I am. Anyways, since we arrived so late, we were very close to the end of the line. During our hour-long wait, we befriended this kid Brandon who was in line right behind us. He was a cool kid who almost got ran over by Joe Thorton. It was a great story, really. But let's get to the strong point of the story. Yes, pun intended.


Pyatt was totally cool and yet the total opposite of cold at the same time, if you catch my drift. If you don't just ask me to explain it to you. The whole thing was completely different from the experience I had at the Jovo signing last year. It was way more relaxed, they let us take pictures and you could get more than one item autographed. Pyatt himself was really nice, I congratuated him on his performance so far this season and he genuinely seemed to be thankful. He even asked Becca and I how we were doing and other small talk like that. Then after he autographed our stuff we got to take a picture with him. I sat down in the seat next to him and I kind of lean up against him. All I can say is "Holy muscles Batman!" He was like rock solid, and Becca said the same thing because she bumped into him aswell. She claims it was purely accidental, I'm not convinced. We were really lucky to get in before he left, because he had "other engagments" to attend to and had to leave at 3:30.

Coming off the immediate "Py High" (I'm so sorry, I couldn't help myself) we drove back to Becca's house. Other than the weird guys rubbing themselves at us, it was a fairly uneventful drive back.

Unfortunately for us (the first, and only truly unlucky turn of the day) we missed a bus by literally one minute on our way the to the Giant's game, leading us to miss the first 8 minutes. The game itself was awesome though, with the Giants winning 2-0 over the Regina Pats. Ashley wasn't mad about me not finishing the sign, and thankfully appreciated the fact that I was not expecting the whole autograph thing.



Tyson Sexsmith redeemed himself with his performance last night with a shut-out on 23 shots.



This may seem terrible to everyone, but I honestly didn't notice that Tommy Tartaglione (former Giant) was on the Pat's bench until I took this picture. I wonder if him and the other Giants, especially Slade, talked at all during the game. Though I'm sure Slade was too busy doing his homework to even notice. Speaking of Slade, during the intermissions at Giants Games they have Timbits hockey (little kids) playing on the ice. When the Timbits were getting onto the ice all of the Giants players had cleared the bench except for Slade who patted every single on of the kids on the back as they skated on the ice for encouragement. It was soooooooo cute. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that Garrett Hunt got into a really awesome fight. I'd say it was a draw, but advantage to Hunt for only being 5'9" to the other guys 6'. Anyways, it was a great way to end off a great day.

This morning I once again began with television, though it was The National on CBC instead of Making the Cut. Evan Soloman is the best news anchor ever. He has the perfect blend of professionalism and relatability. I'm also currently watching the Grey Cup Championship; GO LIONS!

I must admit that I'm not a very big football fan, but when the home team is up for the Grey Cup, it's hard not to get into it.

Anywho, I'm going to go watch the rest of the game and then listen to the Canucks game. Let's make it 2 in a row!

Toodles.

Tuesday, November 14, 2006

It's Been A Long Time Coming....

The long weekend is over *insert moans and groans here* and I've yet to get back into the routine of school. On Saturday I awoke at an early hour (10AM) to watch the episode of Making the Cut I missed last Sunday. I loved the grueling mountain climb/bike they had to do, even thought it seemed torturous.

I was completely impressed by Kilgour during the competiton, he didn't seem nearly as fatigued as the others. I also loved how they relaxed by chilling in the hot tub.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Nobody got cut during the episode, so it was even funnier when Lukin and Taylor tornadoed those other guys' rooms. I love how Lukin is the instigator and comes up with all the ideas and gets Taylor to do all the hard work; genious! Later that night I went to Kathleen, Ashley and Sam's triple birthday party.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


It was tons of fun, we played Funny You Should Ask (I won BTW), Telepathy, and Shout Out (My team won that too). I even got to see Nickey, which is great considering I barely ever get to talk to her. It was goodtimes all around. Then on Sunday I went to Yaya's for my mom's birthday party; coincidently the same night as the Giant's first home ice loss

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


It was sad, but it was bound to happen. Then on Monday I woke up extremely early in order to attend the Value Village 50% off sale. I got tons of reading material and Ashley and Becca got many prized items. Then we went back to Becca's house and watched The Faculty and Sunday's episode of Making the Cut. I suppose to make up for the lack of cuts during the previous episode they got rid of both Morrison and Voakes.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


It was sad to see them go, but they're lack of size and strength was becoming more obvious as the teams were getting thinned out. This brings me to today, which I must admit, wasn't that eventful; though we did decorate the birthday girls' lockers. Now I'm just listening to the game hoping, wishing, praying for a win.

Thursday, November 09, 2006

U-G-L-Y I Ain't Got No Alibi...

I suppose the big news from today is that I've finally received my Grad photos. All I can say is that they are really terrible, I look like a sleepy druggy or something.

Onto a more pleasant topic, The Aquilini Group has purchased complete ownership of the Vancouver Canucks from John McCaw.
Now the Canucks are 100% Canadian owned. But this also brings about a very important question, what will happen to the jerseys?

Since the Orca was originally made to comply with John McCaw's Orca Bay company many speculate that the Canucks may return to one of their vintage jerseys. Only time will tell.

I'd like to leave you all on a humourous note. The following video is of Ralph Klein, a Liberal MP making a joke about Belinda Stronach's love life. I thought it was classic, but some found it offensive.

Not for someone who doesn't like terrible jokes. Definitly NSFW.

Toodles

Wednesday, November 08, 2006

Today: Success!!!!

I'd like to start off todays blog with a story that is not my own, but rather Becca's. Yesterday, when asked by Mr. Embree to do some voluteer work after-school, she of course obliged. She had no idea that what she was volunteering for was an induction for Maple Ridge's Hometown Heroes, attended by many heroes in their own right. These included hockey greats Garrett Hunt (Vancouver Giants), Brett Sonne (Calgary Hitmen) and Richard Brodeur (former Canucks goaltender, most notibly during the 1982 Stanley Cup finals) and many others.

Not only did she get to see them, up close and personal, she also got free Giant's tickets! How awesome is that?!?!

Another awesome thing that I absolutely must mention is the Vancouver Canucks new site. It's way nifty and I think you all should check it out. I like it so much better than the old one, and my favourite new feature is the changing side picture.




Don't you love them? I especially love the angry faces and Luongo's curl falling in front of his face. His SOFT curls (just for you Ashley).

Along with the new website came some updated news. The Canucks have FINALLY posted autograph signing dates. I'm so stoked to go, but the question is, which one?
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Since they are all on the same day and in very far off locales, it seems as though I have to choose just one to attend. Choices...choices...

Another important realization that I came to this afternoon is that I may be able to get You...Me and the Kids on DVD. I kid you not, let me explain...
Photobucket - Video and Image HostingPhotobucket - Video and Image Hosting

They have the DVD's at the library, I have a DVD burner, do you get the picture? Oh yes, it will be mine.

And before I go I'd like to mention that I went an ENTIRE day without making a Brule joke.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

It took a little will power and a lot of distractions, but I managed somehow!

Toodles

Tuesday, November 07, 2006

NHL - Canucks vs Stars FINAL_6/11/06

Hi-lites from last nights awesome game. Pay special attention to the last clip, it's spectacular.


Yay for Youtube! Anywho, there is much more news from the land of Sofie.

For those of you living in a cave, Britney Spears has filed for divorce from K-Fed!! Hip-hip-hurrah!
Now, if only Cameron and Justin would break up, my favourite pop couple may be able to reunite. I'm getting chills just thinking about it!

And, if you will all humour me, I'd like to take a moment to talk about last nights game.
First of all, I think this is the first time the Lidstrom goal has been mentioned in reference to something positive for the Canucks. And for that, along with scoring, I'd like to thank Kevin Bieksa.


I'd also like to make my feelings about Luongo last night clear.
All I can say is... hero. Plain and simple.

Anson who? Pyatt's on fire (I hesitate to say he's on a roll) and if he's tied with Naslund for top-scorer on the Canucks *insert shock here*. I just hope he can keep things up at this pace. PS. He doesn't have woman eyes, and anyone who says he does is just jealous.

The last thing I'm going to mention today is the fact that my DVD burner works! It's totally rad and I'm so thrilled to use it. I'd borrow a bunch of stuff from the library, but I owe them a zillion dollars. If anyone wants to borrow stuff for me in exchange for a bunch of DVD's, just let me know!

I think that's all for today, so Toodles.

Sunday, November 05, 2006

Did you ever notice...

How everything in life seems to come in bunches. Very rarely do big events come alone. They always seem to be followed or predictated by more miniscule occurances; much like an aftermath to an earthquake, or the flash of light before the rumble of thunder. It's as though life is one deliciously detailed story, inciting incidents, climax and falling action all intact. However, since there seems to be a discernible pattern I find myself here, waiting for the rumble that I can feel coming.

Saturday, November 04, 2006

My Mortal Enemy

Well, today was surely a lazyish day. I woke up and watched Making The Cut.

They were doing a lot of speed testing in today's episode. I liked it because it finally revealed a part of Mushaluk's game that wasn't of top quality. I was totally surprised when they chose McWhinney to go to the office though. None of the drills were really meant for the goalies, so I thought it was odd. They didn't cut anyone that episode, so I was kind of relieved. I can't wait for tomorrow night's show. It looks like it will be pretty gruelling, but entertaining none-the-less.

After Making the Cut I decided to watch Slapshot!, just cause I could.

Sometimes I honestly wish the Hanson brothers were real people. Along with Ogie Oglethorpe of course.

Then afterwards Ashley came over to watch the game. We lost... both. But, I have a theory that I feel encompasses all of our problems. My mortal enemy, Puca Shells.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
It's very clear to me that this is the issue here.

Toodles

Friday, November 03, 2006

Tonight We're Going to Party Like We're 15-1-1

Schoolwise, today was a fairly average day. LeSage informed me that I will finally be able to go on the ever illusive roof to take photos. You have no idea how much I've been wanting to go on the roof since Mr. Raible informed me that that is against school rules. Rules were made to be broken.

Next block in chemistry I was kind of dozing off. What can I say? I understand the Mole and have been finding the last couple of lessons kind of repetitive. Ms. Ritchie, obviously seeing my boredom, decided to catch my attention by saying Bertuzzi in reference to 44 grams of Oxygen or something. As I looked up Ms. Ritchie said "I see Sofie's decided to rejoin the class." It was pretty funny-if not slightly embarassing.

Lunch was definitely my favourite part of school today, as per usual. I almost made Kathleen spit out her food when I quoted "Angry Boss" from SNL. And me and Kathleen proceeded to imitate the teenagers so commonly portrayed on Maury.
Here's the link: http://www.dumpalink.com/media/1135335381/Will_Ferrell_as_Angry_Boss_SNL_Skit

I also got my Term Paper back from Ms. Preibish. *cue the funeral march* I was actually surprised that I got 30/36. (1 mark lower than the highest in the class, I might add), but she did use two of my sentences as class examples of what not to do! Egoo *pulls at collar*

Math was boring, Mr. Raible decided not to show up so we did a review (and in my case origami) all class long.

Now, as for last night's game, I have very little to say other than "THE REFS SUCK!!!!!!!!!" seriously, the calls that were made were rediculous.
I also send a big Get Well Soon to Sami Salo! We desperately need you!


So, I've go to go prepare for my party tonight. I'm excited for the first televised Giant's game of the season.

Let's make it 16!

Toodles for now!

Thursday, November 02, 2006

Too Bad...

There is much sad news to report today, so let's get down to it.

1. As you may have already heard, my beloved Bob Barker has announced that he is retiring from the Price Is Right after 50 years. This will surely devastate the game show community.

2. Yes folks, the Vancouver Giants lost for the first time in regulation last night with a heart-breaking 4-1 loss. Our only scorer was J.D. Watt, which is why he gets thw honour of having his picture posted. I blame the Alberta Ranch!

3. "Your Face" and consequent insults are getting old. It was fun while it lasted, but I think it's time me and this saying parted ways.

Anywho, I'm excited for the Canucks game tonight. I'll probably post more later. Toodles for now.

Wednesday, November 01, 2006

CAUTION

May Not be suitable for all audiences.

Lame entrance, I know. But let's face it, a lame entrance couldn't be helped.

As the first real entry in my new blog I was wondering what should be included. So, I thought to myself "What do you like, Sofie?" and thus, this pictoral list was created. Some of these revelations may shock you, others will not. I strongly urge you to continue.


Some may call this obvious, or even predictable. I call this an excuse to look at Dustin Slade.


Ahh yes, the Canucks current top-scorer. I'll use this time to make a public appology to Taylor. I called you a bum because I thought you took a dumb penalty. When I found out it was just Vokun taking a dive I realized my error. I am truly sorry.

Dear Andy,
You should break up with that Sharapova girl, she's too tall for you.
Love,
Sofie

*Are we sensing a pattern here?

Pattern sucessfully broken! I do love Rowan Atkinson though. How could you not? As Mr. Bean and the voice of ZaZu he's a hero.

You knew this was coming. I simply could not write about things that I liked without mentioning the Backsteet Boys. Especially being one myself.

Yay! It's Sami Salo!

Yay! It's other Sami!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And of course we end this tour of Sofie's brain with the obligatory Sean Astin reading to a child photo.

I sincerely hope you've enjoyed my first post. And I guarentee, they will only get more interesting from here.